Ag Advisory Committee

The Ag Advisory Board’s role in the Property tax system is described in the Texas Property Tax code, Section 6.12. It requires the chief appraiser to appoint an Agricultural Appraisal Advisory Board. The legislature created this advisory board to help improve communications between the farming and ranching community and the appraisal district. The board’s purpose is to advise the chief appraiser on the lease income and expenses of agricultural land.

Ag boards must have three to five members and meet at least once annually at the call of the chief appraiser, as required in the tax code. By appointing the required ag board and conducting the required annual meeting, the chief appraiser and board helps to support the CAD in improving its’ appraisal and classification of agricultural land.


The Ag Advisory Board consist of:

Doug Rainbolt

Jackie Brister

Henry Warren

Contact Information
601 West Wallace
San Saba, Texas 76877
Monday - Friday
8:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.
Please note that we are closed daily from noon-1:00 p.m. for lunch.
Chief Appraiser
Jan Vanderburg, RPA, RTA